Upcoming events:

Farm Progress Show
  • August 30 - September 1
  • Boone, Iowa
  • Exhibiting with PERC at the Farm Progress Show’s Health and Safety Area

For more information, click here.

Family Medicine and Pesticide Poisoning
  • Hosted by: American Academy of Family Physicians
  • September 20-23, 2022

For more information, click here.

Latinx Communities and Pesticide Exposure: Reducing Risk by Increasing Healthcare Provider Awareness
  • Hosted by: American Public Health Association
  • October 8, 2022
  • Paola GOnzalez + Diana Simmes

For more information, click here.

Western Occupational & Environmental Medical Association Conference

October 6-9, 2022

For more information, click here: https://www.woema.org/wohc-2022

2022 Tribal EPA Region 9 Annual Conference

For more information, click here.

Farm Toxicology for Primary Care: Recognition and Management of Pesticide Poisonings
  • Hosted by The Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University, North Carolina Agromedicine Institute, and Eastern Area Health Education Center
  • Continuing Education and Training, online self-paced course
  • This three-part, 4.5 credit hour, CME course focuses on pesticide illnesses, diagnosis, treatment, long term effects, and clinical preparedness and surveillance.

To register, click here.

Recognition, Management, and Reporting of Pesticide Illness

Hosted by California Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment (OEHHA)

Continuing Education and Training

This 60-minute course is designed for health care providers and will present information on how to diagnose and treat pesticide illnesses, including illnesses due to cholinesterase inhibiting pesticides, and sources of information on pesticides.

To register, click here

Past events:

International Society for Agricultural Safety and Health

June 12-16, 2022

For more information, click here: https://isash.org/

Tribal Pesticide Program Council

Executive Committee Meeting

May 18, 2022

11am PDT / 1pm CDT / 2pm EDT

  • Diana Simmes, MPH
Community Health Workers Certification Training Program

Hosted by: National Nurse-Led Care Consortium

May 24, 2022

11am PT / 1pm CT / 2pm ET

  • Nancy Villasenor
  • Diana Simmes, MPH

For more information, click here.

New to Public Health Residency: Collaborating to Provide Environmental Health Resources and Tools

Hosted by: National Association of Public Health Nurses

April 28, 2022

  • Diana Simmes, MPH

For more information, click here.

Conference for Agricultural Worker Health

Hosted by: National Association of Community Health Centers

May 2-4, 2022

  • Rebecca Belloso, MPH
  • Micah Bicker, PA-C
  • Paola Gonzalez, PA-C
  • Diana Simmes, MPH

For more information, click here.

Pesticide Exposure and Disproportionate Risk for Hispanic Populations: Increasing Healthcare Providers’ Awareness

Hosted by the National Hispanic Medical Association

March 24-27, 2022

  • Micah Bicker, PA-C
  • Rebecca Belloso, MPH
  • Kaci Buhl, MSc
  • Suzanne Forsyth, MPH
  • Diana Simmes, MPH

For more information, click here.

Oregon and Washington Area Health Education Centers (AHEC)

February 8, 2022

9am PST / 11am CST / 12pm EST

  • Amy Cross, Project Coordinator, National Pesticide Information Center (NPIC), Oregon State University
  • Diana Simmes, MPH, Pesticide Medical Education Director, PERC-med and UC Davis
EPA’s Pacific Southwest (Region 9) Winter 2022 Regional Tribal Operations Committee

January 27, 2022

8:30am PST / 10:30am CST / 11:30am EST

  • Nina Hapner, Director of Environmental Planning, Kashia Band of Pomo Indians
  • Diana Simmes, MPH, Pesticide Medical Education Director, PERC-med and UC Davis

For more information, click here.

Physician Assistants and their Role in Diagnosing and Treating Pesticide Poisonings

Hosted by the American Academy of Physician Assistants, Latinos for Health Caucus

January 11, 2022

5:30pm PST / 7:30pm CST / 8:30pm EST

  • Micah Bicker, PA-C
  • Rebecca Belloso, MPH

For more information, click here.

Pesticide-related illness: An occupational health and safety issue

Hosted by the American Public Health Association

Thursday, October 21, 2021 at 2:30pm PT / 5:30pm ET

This poster presentation, part of a session titled Occupational Hazard from Farms & Factories, is taking place during the APHA Annual Meeting and Expo from October 24-27, 2021.

For registration and more information, click here

Pesticide Educational Resources Collaborative - Medical: Educating Medical Professionals About Pesticide-Related Illness

Hosted by the American Academy of Clinical Toxicology (during the North American Congress of Clinical Toxicology)

October 16-18, 2021

  • David Vearrier, MD, MPH, PERC-med Advisory Board Member and Professor of emergency medicine and preventive medicine, University of Mississippi Medical Center
  • Kaci Buhl, MS, PERC-med Deputy Director and Associate Professor of Practice at Oregon State University; and
  • Diana Simmes, MPH, Pesticide Medical Education Director, PERC-med and UC Davis

For more information, click here

Pesticide Educational Resources for Health Care Providers

PERC-med invites your ideas for new pesticide-related educational resources to serve the needs of medical providers across the country. Your ideas will be considered by the PERC-med Advisory Board.

Due Date: August 16, 2021

Click on the form for more information and to describe the resource/material you need.

New to Public Health Residency Program

This residency program is designed to support new public health professionals within their first year of governmental public health practice. Applications for the September 2021 N2PH Residency Program are currently being accepted on a rolling basis.

Information Sessions:

  • Wednesday, July 14 at 7:00am PT / 10:00am ET
  • Monday, August 2 at 12:30pm PT / 3:30pm ET

For more information or to register for the sessions, click here.

Disinfectants, Sanitizers, and Reproductive Health

Hosted by The American College of Medical Toxicology (ACMT) and Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Units (PEHSU)

Wednesday, July 7 at 12:00pm PT / 3:00pm ET

This is an upcoming webinar on disinfectant use and implications on reproductive health.

For registration and more information, click here.

Agricultural Safety and Health Course

Hosted by the University of Iowa School of Public Health

June 14-18, 2021

Course Director: Diane Rohlman, PhD, Professor, Department of Occupational and Environmental Health, University of Iowa College of Public Health and PERC-med Advisory Board Member

The course provides an overview of agricultural production with a focus on hazard control and prevention of injury and illness. Continuing Education credit is available for physicians, nurses, veterinarians, EMS, Industrial Hygienists, and General CEUs. There will be 37.25 CME and Nursing CE Credits.

For registration and more information, click here.

COVID-19: Cleaning & Disinfecting of PPE for Effective Reuse

Hosted by U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

April 29, 2021, 11:00AM PDT, 2:00PM ET

To register for this webinar click here

2021 Association of Public Health Nurses Virtual Conference

Moving from Data to Action: Evidence-Based 21st Century Public Health Nursing

April 20-22, 2021 -- Online

   

COVID-19 and Pesticides: What Public Health Nurses Need to Know
Featuring: Diana Simmes, MPH, Pesticide Medical Education Director, PERC-med and UC Davis
Tuesday, April 20, 2021 at 2:45pm ET

For more information click here

2021 Association of Public Health Nurses Virtual Conference

Moving from Data to Action: Evidence-Based 21st Century Public Health Nursing

April 20-22, 2021 -- Online

   

COVID-19 and Pesticides: What Public Health Nurses Need to Know
Featuring: Diana Simmes, MPH, Pesticide Medical Education Director, PERC-med and UC Davis
Tuesday, April 20, 2021 at 2:45pm ET

For more information click here

Oregon Pesticide Symposium

Healthcare Providers and Pesticide Medical Education: Collaboration Examples
Featuring: Diana Simmes, MPH, Pesticide Medical Education Director, PERC-med and UC Davis
Wednesday, April 7, 2021 at 9:10am PT

   

Emerging Issues (New & Odd Things out there), Glyphosate Lawyers on TV
Featuring: Kaci Buhl, MS, PERC-med Deputy Director and Associate Professor of Practice at Oregon State University
Wednesday, April 7, 2021 at 9:35am PT

   

Soil & Water Assessment Tool
Featuring: Jeff Jenkins, PhD, PERC-med Advisory Board Member; Professor and Extension Specialist, Department of Environmental and Molecular Toxicology, Oregon State University; and Director, National Pesticide Information Center
Wednesday, April 7 at 10:00am PT

   

Toxicology of Paraquat
Featuring: Fred Berman, DVM, PhD, PERC-med Advisory Board Member and Director; Toxicology Information Center, Oregon Institute of Occupational Health Sciences at Oregon Health & Science University
Wednesday, April 7 at 11:10am PT

   

Disinfectants in the Time of COVID
Featuring: Kaci Buhl, MS, PERC-med Deputy Director and Associate Professor of Practice at Oregon State University
Thursday, April 8, 2021 at 1:05pm PT

   

For more information on the Oregon OSHA, click here.

National Hispanic Medical Association's 2020 Health Conference

Washington Marriott Wardman Park

March 18-21, 2021, Washington, DC

Register here

Prevention, Recognition and Treatment of Pesticide-Related Illnesses

Featuring: Diana Simmes, MPH, Pesticide Medical Education Director, PERC-med and UC Davis

Partner: LCH (La Comunidad Hispana)

March 12, 2021 at 11am PT / 2pm ET -- Online

Registration is limited to La Comunidad Hispania FQHC members

Agrisafe Nurse Scholar Program

Featuring: Diana Simmes, MPH, Pesticide Medical Education Director, PERC-med and UC Davis

Partner: Agrisafe

February 11, 2021 at 1pm PT / 4pm ET -- Online

Registration is limited to Agrisafe Nurse Scholars. Questions? email nursescholar@agrisafe.org

Webinar: COVID-19, Pesticides, and the Healthcare Workforce

View the recording here

Featuring: Kaci Buhl, MS, PERC-med Deputy Director and Associate Professor of Practice at Oregon State University

Partner: The Pesticide Stewardship Alliance

February 2, 2021 at 11am PT / 2pm ET -- Online

Registration Information

Webinar: What do pesticides have to do with SARS-CoV-2?

View the recording here

Featuring: Diana Simmes, MPH, Pesticide Medical Education Director, PERC-med and UC Davis

Partner: National Nurse-Led Care Consortium Webinar

January 27, 2021 at 1pm PT/4pm ET -- Online

Registration Information

Practical Tools for Promoting Farm Safety for Children

Featuring: Diane Rohlman, PhD, Professor and Endowed Chair in Rural Health and Safety, University of Iowa

Partner: RuralPrep Grand Rounds

January 28, 2021 at 10am PT/1pm ET -- Online

Registration Information

COVID-19 and Pesticides: What providers need to know about disinfectants

National Pesticide Information Center, Samaritan Health Services, and Oregon Pacific AHEC

Tuesday, December 15, 2020, 1:00 PM (PST) / 4:00 PM (ET)

Register for the webinar here

¡Es su derecho a saber! Ayudando a los promotores de salud a promover la seguridad química en el trabajo

Migrant Clinicians Network

Thursday, June 25, 2020, 10:00 AM (PST) / 1:00 PM (ET)

Register for the webinar here

It's Your Right to Know: Helping Community Health Workers Promote Chemical Safety at Work

Migrant Clinicians Network

Tuesday, June 23, 2020, 10:00 AM (PT) / 1:00 PM (ET)

Register for the webinar here

Respirator Fit Testing in Agricultural Communities

Wednesday, June 24, 2020, 10:00 AM (PT) / 1:00 PM (ET)

Presented by Charlotte Halverson, RN, BSN, COHN-S, Clinical Director for AgriSafe

Register here

Disinfectant safety during the COVID-19 pandemic

Wednesday, June 24, 2020, 11:00 AM (PT) / 2:00 PM (ET)

In this webinar the National Pesticide Information Center (NPIC) will address common misconceptions and questions about disinfectant safety. We will also tour EPA’s online tool for products effective against COVID-19.

Register here

Agricultural Safety and Health: The Core Course

Online course: Half day of live or synchronous instruction from 8am - 12pm

June 8-12, 2020

Register here

COVID-19 and the Realities for Farmworkers and the Clinicians who Care for Them: A Learning Session

Migrant Clinicians Network webinar

June 10, 2020 12:00pm PT (3:00pm ET)

Register here

2020 AAPCC and NPIC FaceBook Q&A Session

Hosted by American Association of Poison Control Centers, National Pesticide Information Center, Oregon Poison Center, and Virginia Poison Center

Thursday, April 30, 2020 at 2:00pm EDT (11am PT)

Submit your questions here

Safe and Proper use of Disinfectants and Household Cleaners (webinar)

Tribal Healthy Homes Network

Recording here

What Ag Producers Need to Know About COVID19 (webinar)

AgriSafe Network

Recording here

Pesticide Safety Education Program (PSEP) Pesticide Medical Risk Talk

Willamette Valley CORE Course

November 19, 2019 at 1:45pm

Oregon State University, LaSells Stewart Center, Corvallis, OR

Register here

2019 Fall Primary Care Conference

October 5-8, 2019, Seattle, WA

Register by October 5, 2019

Register at https://www.nwrpca.org/events/EventDetails.aspx?id=1223104

"Agrisafe Nurse Scholar Stipend Opportunity"
"2019 Western Agriculture Safety and Health Conference: Cultivating Collaborations"

August 7-9, 2019, University of Washington campus, Seattle WA

Register at: https://osha.washington.edu/professional-development/course/westernag-08072019?destination=admin/courses/list

"International Society of Agricultural Safety and Health Annual Conference"

June 24-27, 2019, Des Moines, IA

Register at https://isash.org/isash-2019-annual-conference/

new wps worker training flipchart in use
new wps worker training flipchart in use
"Reducing the Risk of Adverse Pregnancy Outcomes and Perinatal Illness for Female Agricultural Producers"

Presented by Knesha Rose-Davison, MPH

Tuesday, June 18, 2019, 10:00-11:00AM PDT

Register at https://attendee.gototraining.com/rt/919982666344629505

"Agricultural Safety and Health: The Core Course | Center for Conferences"

Monday, June 10, 2019 to Friday, June 14, 2019

Location: The University of Iowa, College of Public Health Building

Register at https://centerforconferences.uiowa.edu/agricultural-safety-and-health-core-course-0

"Agricultural Exposures: Organophosphate Pesticide Poisoning and Prevention"

Thursday, January 24, 2019

Webinar: Prepared for Rural Prep by Diana Rohlman, University of Iowa, Rural Health and Safety

Watch the webinar here